Rajasthan Travel Guide

IPL 2008

User Ratings:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3.20 out of 5)

Year 2008 saw the inauguration of Indian Premier League with 8 teams participating in the tournament. This season is known for amazing captaincy of Shane Warne and collective performance of all members of Rajasthan Royals. This helped RR in wining the final against Chennai Super Kings and became the champions of inaugural IPL 1.

IPL 2008 Final Statistics
Winning Team Rajsthan Royals
Highest Scorer (Orange Cap) Shaun Marsh (616 runs)
Highest Wickets Taker Sohail Tanvir (21)
Man of the Series Shane Watson
Winning Team Captain Shane Warne
Maximum Sixes Sanath Jayasuriya (31)
Runner Up Team Chennai Super Kings
Fair Play Team Chennai Super Kings

Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2008

Rajasthan Royals, considered as possibly the weakest team at the start of the IPL 1 ends up with winning the first inaugural IPL trophy. Impressive 11–3 record in 14 group matches makes them to stay top in the tally. Coaching and captaincy of Shane Warne makes them to clear semis defeating Delhi Daredevils and on 1 June 2008, RR defeated defeated the Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets in the finals to lift the IPL 1 trophy.

Leave a Message